[ANSWERED] Is Absolut Vodka Gluten Free?

Is Absolut vodka gluten free

Are you a fan of Absolut vodka and wondering if it’s a safe choice for your gluten-free lifestyle? You have come to the right place (page)!

According to the FDA, all distilled spirits, including vodka, are gluten-free, hence Absolut and other major vodka brands, including those produced from gluten-containing grains, are gluten-free and safe for celiac patients. In this guide, we’ll dive deeper into the question “is Absolut Vodka gluten-free?” and explore the factors affecting that determine the answer.

Suggested Read: Best Non-Carbonated Alcoholic Drinks

What is Absolut Vodka?

Absolut is a Swedish vodka that has gained immense popularity in the United States, and it’s not hard to see why! It’s a favorite ingredient in some of the most well-known and beloved cocktails, like the Cosmopolitan, Bloody Mary, and Martini.

Apart from that, it produces a wide range of beverages, including pure vodka, flavored vodkas, and Absolut Juice. In addition to that, they have two ready-to-drink products, including Absolut cocktails and Absolut Vodka Soda.

Is Absolut Vodka Gluten Free?

3 5

First things first, let’s take a closer look at what Absolut vodka is made from. This iconic brand is crafted from winter wheat, which unfortunately means that its ingredients aren’t entirely gluten-free. But don’t fret just yet!

Yet, the claim that vodka is gluten-free is questionable. Clearly said, the distillation process purportedly removes gluten proteins from wheat-based vodka, however many people have observed gluten contamination symptoms following vodka use (and yes, they assert that it is not just the aftermath of a hangover). But, if you choose to drink non-wheat-based vodka (made from grapes, potatoes, or maize), your chances of becoming sick should be low.

The answer to “is Absolut Vodka gluten-free?” is not a straightforward yes or no, but if you view it from FDA’s perspective, it’s safe to use for a gluten-free diet. Here’s a list of some of the popular Absolut Vodkas that you can try:

  • Absolut Vodka (Original)
  • Absolut Watermelon
  • Absolut Grapefruit
  • Absolut Lime
  • Absolut Citron
  • Absolut Mandrin
  • Absolut Elyx
  • Absolut Raspberri
  • Absolut Vanilia
  • Absolut Apeach
  • Absolut Kurant
  • Absolut Peppar
  • Absolut Pears
  • Absolut Mango
  • Absolut Berri Acai
  • Absolut Rainbow
  • Absolut Juice Apple
  • Absolut Juice Strawberry
  • Absolut Juice Pear and Elderflower
  • Absolut Mango Mule
  • Absolut Grapefruit Paloma
  • Absolut Berry Vodkarita
  • Absolut Vodka Soda Lime & Cucumber
  • Absolut Vodka Soda Raspberry & Lemongrass
  • Absolut Vodka Soda Grapefruit & Rosemary

How is Absolut Vodka Made?

Absolut Vodka is created by a unique technique that involves continuous distillation. This implies that the vodka is distilled several times in order to eliminate contaminants and provide a smooth, clean flavor. Apart from that, their winter wheat is likewise farmed in an area of Sweden with a warm climate and good soil, ensuring the grain’s exceptional quality.

According to information provided by Absolut themselves on their website, their delicious vodkas are allergen-free, including wheat! They take great care in ensuring that no allergens are used in the flavors of their products, and their suppliers have verified this information too.

Also Read: How Many Shots are in a Fifth?

Is There a Chance of Cross-Contamination?

Though Absolut says that their vodka is gluten-free, there is always the possibility of cross-contamination during the production process. They do, however, take precautions to guarantee that their goods are safe for anyone who have gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Apart from that, they claim to have a facility with a thorough cleaning routine to avoid cross-contamination and also performs tests on its products on a regular basis.

Can People With Celiac Disease Drink Absolut Vodka?

Absolut vodka celiac

Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains, or other gluten-free ingredients are naturally gluten-free. So, if you are avoiding gluten or have celiac, you can still enjoy Absolut vodka drinks as long as they are made from these ingredients. Make sure you read the ingredients list before buying it.

Does Flavored Absolut Vodkas have Gluten?

The majority of the flavored Absolut Vodkas are also gluten-free according to their website. However, it’s always safe to check the label before drinking them. Several of the flavored vodkas may contain natural flavorings derived from gluten-containing cereals. Apart from that, double-checking the labels can keep you on the safer side as the brand might change ingredients for a particular flavor.

Suggested Read: Best Scotch Whiskies Under $100

Can Absolut Vodka be Used in Gluten-Free Cocktails?

Is Absolut Vodka Gluten Free?

Absolut Vodka may be used to make gluten-free drinks as its clean and smooth flavor makes it a popular choice for many cocktail recipes. However, there’s no way to know for sure that it’s gluten-free but as per the disclosed info, they ensure ALLERGEN-FREE documentation (based on Regulation (EU) 1169/2011) from all flavor suppliers.

Overall, Absolut claims that their flavored vodkas are gluten-free, but there is no way for them to know for sure. The Moscow Mule, Greyhound, and Vodka Martini are three popular gluten-free cocktail drinks that contain Absolut Vodka.

Other Gluten-Free Vodka Options

  • Tito’s Handmade Vodka
  • Crystal Head Vodka
  • Ciroc Vodka
  • Grey Goose Vodka
  • Dixie Vodka
  • Chopin Vodka
  • Boyd & Blair Potato Vodka
  • Crop Artisanal Harvest Earth
  • Kissui vodka
  • Cold River vodka

Also Read: Best Vodka For Jello Shots


To summarize it all, Absolut Vodka is gluten-free and suitable for persons suffering from gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Its unique distillation method eliminates the gluten protein, leaving just the alcohol. While there may be a slight possibility of cross-contamination during the production process, Absolut claims that they take precautions to assure that its products are safe for people suffering from gluten sensitivity. Thus, whether you’re making a cocktail or drinking it straight, Absolut Vodka is a safe and tasty choice.

Apart from that, not everyone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity has to avoid gluten-free vodka; some individuals can drink vodka manufactured from gluten grains just well. If you are sensitive to traditional alcohol, you will be relieved to discover that you may still enjoy vodka while avoiding gluten.


1. Is Absolut Vodka made from wheat?

Yes, Absolut Vodka is made from winter wheat.

2. Can people with celiac disease drink Absolut Vodka?

Yes, people with celiac disease can safely drink Absolut Vodka as long as it is distilled and gluten-free.

3. Can flavored Absolut Vodkas contain gluten?

Certain flavored Absolut Vodkas may include natural flavorings derived from gluten-containing grains, so read the label carefully before consuming them.

Popular gluten-free cocktails that use Absolut Vodka include the Moscow Mule, Greyhound, and the Vodka Martini to name a few.

5. Is there a chance of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process?

Although there is a danger of cross-contamination, Absolut Vodka takes precautions to assure that its products are gluten-free.

Related Posts